Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  •  
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Accuracy of Lumosity LPI? Percentile?

I'm fairly new to Lumosity, only about a month and a half. And yes I can see improvement. But I have to question the percentile numbers. I have for various reasons taken several IQ tests with the average being about 135. So I wasn't surprised with initial percentile numbers in the top 50%.

But I have to question these percentile numbers. Initially LPI 1596, Speed 1376, Memory 1782, Attention 1650, Flexibility 1354, Problem Solving 1682.

After today's session, LPI 1924, Speed 1824, Memory 1936, Attention 1922, Flexibility 1840, Problem Solving 1960.

That's some high numbers and a lot of improvement. I'm 68. Don't get me wrong. I like playing the games. I keep track of what my Top 5 scores are on ALL of them. I have to say I'm skeptical about the numbers. Either 1. There are a lot of people who are really needing to improve their brain functions. 2. Lumosity is padding the numbers and blowing smoke. OR (Not very likely) 3. I was pretty darn smart to start off with and I'm in the Einstein class now.

How about you?

I personally think it's pretty accurate.

For you, I believe your age is the issue. The site is only comparing your scores to other 65-75 year olds. The problem with that is there is probably not enough people in that age group using the site. If there are 5 million users 20-30, I'd guess only 500 thousand in 65-75.

My parents, and many other people I know in your age bracket, use the Internet for Facebook, email, and very little else. They are not even aware that a site like lumosity exists.

Try something if you want, when looking at your Lumosity percentile, try lowering your age bracket to 45-55 or whatever. You should drop a bit, but it will probably be more accurate to what you really are if more people played in your real bracket.

Comment